2023 GBF Fishout Schedule

Updated Jan 25, 2023 (Rancho Seco)

Changed dates in red, dark blue new for 2023.

Do you have any fishout ideas or suggestions? Contact Tony (rivers) or Doug (lakes).
Want to lead a fishout? GBF needs you! Send Tony or Doug an email on that too.

About Fishouts  ~ Running a Fishout Lottery ~ Fishout Archives

Leading a Fishout  ~  Fishout Participant Rules and Responsibilities  ~ Fly Fishing Safety

Fishout dates are tentative and can change depending on weather and water conditions. Fishout leaders will keep participants
apprised of the outing status.  Sign-up at general meetings, by phone, text, or email to the fishout leader below.
Full fishout details, gear, rigging, etc. are found at the “Fishout Templates” blue link under “Location” below.

Participation for impacted venues with a limited headcount are determined by lottery. See above link for how a lottery works,

You must be an active GBF member to attend fishouts.

Location Date Contact
Changed dates in red. Click blue links below for fishout details. Specify exact venue when emailing fishout leader.
Rancho Seco joint fishout with the San Jose club Mar 28/29, 2023 (Sat/Sun) Jim Degnan
Pyramid Lake April,  3-5, 2023 (Mon-Wed) Eric Palmer
Greenstone, large mouth bass   Apr 23, 2022 (Sat) Wendell Edwards
Prosser Creek Res. April 29, 2022 (Fri) Doug Kytonen
Cameron Park – large mouth bass May 5, 2022 (Thur) Ray Ito
Sly Park May 18, 2022 (Wed) Doug Kytonen
Fuller Lake, browns and rainbows June 1, 2022 (Wed) Doug Kytonen
Manzanita Lake June 13-19, 2023 (Mon-Sun) Michael Kaul
Spring Upper Sac at Dunsmuir June 22-25, 2023 (Thur-Sun) Tony Jelinek
Tenkara #1, Upper W. Carson June 30, 2023 (Fri) John Pellegrin
Tenkara #2, Upper W. Carson July 10, 2023 (Mon) John Pellegrin
Truckee River   July 16, 2022 (Sat) Ed Lloyd
Virginia Lakes July 18-24, 2022 (Mon-Sun) Michael Kaul
Tenkara #3, Silver Fork July 28, 2023 (Fri) John Pellegrin
Little Truckee Aug 13, 2022 (Sat) Ed Lloyd
Try float tubing with loaner gear on Fuller Lake Aug 27, 2022 (Sat) Michael Kaul, Jim Degnan
Tenkara #4, East Carson Sept 11, 2023 (Tue) John Pellegrin
Truckee River   Oct 1, 2022 (Sat) Ed Lloyd
Little Truckee Oct 15, 2022 (Sat) Ed Lloyd
Fall Upper Sac at Dunsmuir Nov 2-5, 2023 (Thur-Sun) Tony Jelinek
Discovery Bay, the Delta (bass) Nov 11, 2022 Veteran’s Day Doug Kytonen

 

Truckee River

Dave in Tauhindauli Park Dunsmuir, Upper Sac

On the N. Yuba wild trout section